Eschborn-Frankfurt – The German Classic

The German Classic on May, 1st - 17 Races - 1 Day - since 1962.
Elite | ŠKODA Velotour | U23 | U19-Juniors | Süwag Energie Youth Cup | kinder Joy of moving mini tour| Expo

ŠKODA Velotour


Youth races


A youngster at the 60th – Jasper Philipsen wins the anniversary edition of Eschborn-Frankfurt

Jasper Philipsen (Alpecin-Fenix) has won the 60th edition of Eschborn-Frankfurt. On his debut in the German Classic, the 23-year-old Belgian relegated local hero and 2011 winner, John Degenkolb (Lotto Soudal), and record winner Alexander Kristoff (UAE Team Emirates) to the podium places. After 187.4 kilometers the youngster secured his first victory in a WorldTour classic and set the next exclamation mark in his outstanding season. Pascal Ackermann (Bora-hansgrohe), the last winner in Frankfurt, sprinted to 5th place.

Jasper Philipsen after his victory: "It was a really hard race. A few weeks ago, I decided that I wanted to do this race because it's typically a sprint finish. Then I looked into the profile and thought it might be harder than expected. So now I'm super proud with this victory. The team support was key today because I was really struggling in the middle part. On the climbs the team just stayed with me and that was important. I kept pushing because I knew that the last 40km were flat. I was able to recover and could do my sprint."

Read more (PDF)