

First-class team selection for the cycling classic on May 1st

There are still 55 days to go until the cycling classic, but a look at the team selection already promises an exciting May 1st. With 13 teams from the UCI WorldTour and five ProTeams, Eschborn-Frankfurt 2024 will take place. Never in the long history of the race has there been such a high level of first-class teams in the starting field.

The team selection is led by Alpecin-Deceuninck and BORA - hansgrohe, who have alternately won the last four editions. Last year, the Belgian team spoiled the German team's home race and will now start as defending champions. The teams of local heroes John Degenkolb (Team DSM-Firmenich PostNL) and Jonas Rutsch (EF Education - EasyPost) as well as record winner Alexander Kristoff (Uno-X Mobility) will also be there on May 1st. Many international teams of German riders have also announced their participation once again. They all want to crown the end of the spring with the trophy of the German WorldTour race.

While most of the teams are regulars in the Cycling Classics, there are also some comebacks and debuts. Lidl-Trek, for example, is returning after a year away. In addition to former world champion Mads Pedersen, who won the U23 edition of Eschborn-Frankfurt exactly ten years ago, last year's runner-up Patrick Konrad will also be in the team's line-up from this season.

Fans had to wait even longer for the return of another big cycling name: Soudal Quick-Step last spent May 1st in the Taunus in 2018. With ten wins this season, the team is back at the front this spring and is sure to make its mark on Eschborn-Frankfurt. One team is even celebrating its cycling classic premiere this year: Tudor Pro Cycling Team with its sporting director Marcel Sieberg.

The 18 teams will nominate their riders in the coming weeks. After the double crossing of the Feldberg gave the race a new character last year and ensured excitement right up to the finale, the course remains unchanged. More than 200 kilometers, two climbs on the Feldberg and three on the Mammolshainer Stich will once again attract the best classic specialists to the Taunus on May 1st.

Team selection Eschborn-Frankfurt 2024 (from: March 7th)

UCI WorldTeams

Alpecin-Deceuninck (BEL) Arkea-B&B Hotels (FRA) Bahrain Victorious (BRN) BORA – hansgrohe (GER) Decathlon AG2R La Mondiale Team (FRA) EF Education – EasyPost (USA) Intermarché – Wanty (BEL) Lidl-Trek (USA)

www.eschborn-frankfurt.de | www.skoda-velotour.de | #Radklassiker





Movistar Team (ESP) Soudal Quick-Step (BEL) Team DSM-Firmenich PostNL (NED) Team Jayco Alula (AUS) UAE Team Emirates (UAE)

UCI ProTeams

Israel - Premier Tech (ISR) Lotto Dstny (BEL) Q36.5 Pro Cycling Team (SUI) Tudor Pro Cycling Team (SUI) Uno-X Mobility (NOR)

www.eschborn-frankfurt.de | www.skoda-velotour.de | #Radklassiker