



Eschborn, the Taunus and Frankfurt: A stage for 10,000 enthusiastic cyclists

In perfect cycling weather, around 10,000 recreational riders took to the roads on May 1st between Eschborn, Frankfurt and the Taunus hills. The fully booked ADAC Velotour kicked off the Radklassiker early in the morning, leading up to the highlight of the day in the late afternoon – the arrival of the elite riders in front of Frankfurt's Alte Oper.

For the amateur athletes, however, Eschborn was the main hub of activity, serving as both the start and finish location. The large event area at XXXLutz on Elly-Beinhorn-Straße was dedicated entirely to them this year, as the professional start had moved to Rathausplatz. With 10,000 riders and their equipment, space – and time – were needed. It took more than an hour for all start blocks to get going and spread out across the three different routes.

Among the first to set off was Hesse's Minister President Boris Rhein. "Eschborn-Frankfurt is a true highlight on the sporting calendar – for both professionals and amateurs. As an avid road cyclist myself, I'm excited to take part in the ADAC Velotour. The Radklassiker brings together elite and grassroots cycling, excites tens of thousands of fans, and brings Hessen's sporting spirit to life," said Rhein. Another well-known participant was Tagesthemen news anchor Ingo Zamperoni.

Others, however, claimed the top spots. In the 40-kilometre ADAC Velotour Skyline – a loop through Frankfurt that truly lived up to its name on the return to Eschborn – Daniel Schröder (Element [h] 14) posted the fastest time of 52:18 minutes, while Leonie Haas won the women's race (1:00:41). On the 92-kilometre ADAC Velotour Taunus Express via the Feldberg, Dennis Gerhard (well:fair cycling team) took the win in 2:15:06, with Carmen Burmeister (Element [h] 14) taking first place among the women in 2:29:21. The 103-kilometre ADAC Velotour Taunus Classic, which also includes the iconic Mammolshainer Stich climb, saw Moritz Palm (Team Strassacker) and Lisa Forster take top honours in 2:30:27 and 2:46:44 respectively.

As in previous years, the TISSOT mountain classification was held on the Feldberg climb. Forster was the fastest woman, while Tim Jäger clocked the fastest time among the men. Both were rewarded with a brand-new watch at the finish.

The ADAC Velotour 2025 was already completely sold out six weeks before May 1st. However, preregistration for next year is already open.