





A youngster at the 60<sup>th</sup> – Jasper Philipsen wins the anniversary edition of Eschborn-Frankfurt

Jasper Philipsen (Alpecin-Fenix) has won the 60<sup>th</sup> edition of Eschborn-Frankfurt. On his debut in the German Classic, the 23-year-old Belgian relegated local hero and 2011 winner, John Degenkolb (Lotto Soudal), and record winner Alexander Kristoff (UAE Team Emirates) to the podium places. After 187.4 kilometers the youngster secured his first victory in a WorldTour classic and set the next exclamation mark in his outstanding season. Pascal Ackermann (Bora-hansgrohe), the last winner in Frankfurt, sprinted to 5<sup>th</sup> place.

Jasper Philipsen after his victory: "It was a really hard race. A few weeks ago, I decided that I wanted to do this race because it's typically a sprint finish. Then I looked into the profile and thought it might be harder than expected. So now I'm super proud with this victory. The team support was key today because I was really struggling in the middle part. On the climbs the team just stayed with me and that was important. I kept pushing because I knew that the last 40km were flat. I was able to recover and could do my sprint."

Local hero **John Degenkolb** said of his second place: "300 meters from the finish I thought all or nothing! I went all in. In the end it is a deserved victory for Jasper because he had an incredible speed. I am happy that it was enough for  $2^{nd}$  place and can now also be happy about it. I am proud that I withstood the pressure and was in the mix for victory in such a big race. Now I'm looking forward to the next races!"

## The 60th edition kept its promise: attacks made the sprinters' life hard

The attacks began shortly after the real start in Eschborn and five riders formed a first breakaway. With Mathias Jorgensen (Movistar Team) and Luke Durbridge (Team BikeExchange) two WorldTour riders were represented. Simone Velasco (Gazprom-RusVelo), Erik Resell (Uno-X Pro Cycling Team) and Boris Vallee (Bingoal Pauwels Sauces WB) joined them. Up until the first ascent of the day on the Feldberg, the field was more than six minutes behind.

After 100 kilometers in the race, only the two WorldTour riders and Velasco remained in the lead - but the gap fell close to the minute mark. Even if the favorites of the race came closer, the time in front was worth it for the rider of the Gazprom-RusVelo team: The Italian won seven out of eight mountain classifications and took the mountain trophy on the podium after the race.

And it was this penultimate passage of the Mammolshainer stitch that turned out to be the preliminary decision of the race. Tightening the pace by the BikeExchange team meant that the outliers were caught and the peloton split up. 16 drivers went together for the last crossing of the Mammolshainer Berg - 40 seconds before the field.

On the last kilometers of the race, which led to downtown Frankfurt, UAE Team Emirates did the chasing for Kristoff. With 30 kilometers to go the front group was caught, and only Georg Zimmermann







(Intermarche - Wanty Gobert Materiaux), winner of the white jersey at the Deutschland Tour, and Cristian Scaroni (Gazprom-RusVelo) resisted. After entering the finish lap, Bora-hansgrohe and defending champion Ackermann took over the chase. But the duo in front kept their lead and were able to enjoy the cheers of the visitors when they crossed the finish line at the Alte Oper for the first time. Only with nine kilometers to go, they were caught by the sprinters' field. It was Degenkolb who was the first to play his cards on the last kilometer. He opened the sprint, but in the last few meters Philipsen showed his strength.