11.01.2019: Optimale Vorbereitung für jede Strecke - so schafft ihr die legendären Anstiege - Mit den neuen Trainingsplänen unseres Partners iQ athletik kann das Training für den 1. Mai starten!
20.12.2018: Neuer Radklassiker-Shop unseres offiziellen Ausrüsters DEE ist nun online - Jetzt Signature-Trikot 2019 erwerben und in der Radklassiker-Kollektion stöbern!
01.12.2018: Das perfektes Weihnachtsgeschenk: Ein Startplatzgutschein für die ŠKODA Velotour - Sichert Euch jetzt einen Startplatzgutschein bei der ŠKODA Velotour am 1. Mai 2019 und zaubert ein Lachen ins das Gesicht eures Beschenkten.
20.04.2018: Exklusives Rennrad zu gewinnen! - Riesenchance für alle SKODA Velotour-Teilnehmer: Gewinnt jetzt ein individuell angepasstes Rennrad der #Radklassiker Special Edition
20.02.2018: Neue Radklassiker-Kollektion jetzt erhältlich - Neuer Textilausstatter und offizieller Ausrüster DEE präsentiert im Webshop das offizielle Radtrikot und -hose. Mit der Radklassiker-Radjacke und -Radweste seid ihr auch für widrige Bedingungen wie am 1. Mai 2017 optimal vorbereitet.
18.01.2018: Tissot auch 2018 Partner und Zeitnehmer des Radklassikers - Traditionell wird wieder die Sonderwertung Tissot Bergkönigin und Bergkönig an den schnellsten Feldberg-Kletterer vergeben und die Sieger mit einer hochwertigen Tissot-Sportuhr belohnt.

Eschborn-Frankfurt 1 May 2017

All the sprint stars will be there

Key points

  • For its 56th edition, Eschborn-Frankfurt will celebrate its inclusion on the World Tour calendar. For this occasion, the world’s top riders will be ready for the start on May 1.
  • Alexander Kristoff, winner of the last two editions, will try to tie the record of Erik Zabel in lifting his arms in joy for the third time on the German classic.

Eschborn-Frankfurt is now a well-established German tradition, with a good number of events for all age categories throughout the day. It is a celebration of cycling that rolls through Frankfort each May 1st. But this year, the main event race has reached a new level in receiving World Tour status. This promotion has made it possible to attract 11 top level teams, who bring with them some of the fastest riders in the professional peloton.

This will be the first participation for world champion Peter Sagan, who will return to competition after his spring classic campaign during which he would have liked to be more successful. In finishing outside the top 25 in the two cobbled classics, Sagan wants to return to his winning ways as soon as possible. But he will have to be in tip top shape to beat the numerous German riders. Marcel Kittel, John Degenkolb and Andre Greipel will all be out to end Germany’s six-year victory draught. The golden generation of German sprinting hasn’t triumphed in Eschborn-Frankfurt since the victory of John Degenkolb in 2011.

While Eschborn-Frankfurt is traditionally a race for sprinters, you can’t overlook the difficulty of the route. With 215.7 kilometres and 2,210 metres of elevation gain, this race is far from being as easy as its records suggest. The Mammolshain climb (with 200m at 23%) will be repeated four times and its final passage will be situated at less than 30 kilometres from the finish, which will be enough to give the classic regulars ideas. If the flow of the race follows the trend of other one-day races held this season, the battle between the favourites could start much earlier than usual.

Riders such as local star Tony Martin, Oliver Naesen, Jasper Stuyven or even Dylan van Baarle, who are slower on paper, could upset the apple cart in breaking away early. In the case of a mass sprint, Michael Matthews, Sam Benett, Fernando Gaviria and Alexander Kristoff will be without question among the riders to watch alongside the trio of German sprinters and the Slovak world champion. The Norwegian rider of the Katusha-Alpecin team will no doubt be motivated by the idea of winning for third consecutive year.

20 teams, the main contenders

Lotto-Soudal: Greipel (Ger), Sieberg (Ger)
Quick-Step Floors: Kittel (Ger), Gaviria (Col), Vakoc (Cze)
Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise: Van Hecke (Bel)
Veranda’s Willems-Crelan: Bille (Bel)
Wanty-Groupe Gobert: Dehaes (Bel), Napolitano (Ita)
WB Veranclassic Aquality Protect: Jules (Fra)

AG2R La Mondiale: Naesen (Bel), Bakelants (Bel), Vandenbergh (Bel)

Bora-Hansgrohe: Sagan (Svk), Bennett (Irl)
Team Sunweb: Matthews (Aus), Arndt (Ger)
German National Team: Freienstein (Ger), Holler (Ger)

Aqua Blue Sport : Howard (Aus)

Team Lotto NL-Jumbo: Lobato (Esp), Tankink (Ned)
Roompot Nederlandse Loterij: Mouris (Ned)

CCC Sprandi Polkowice: Paterski (Pol)

Gazprom-Rusvelo: Lagutin (Rus), Porsev (Rus)

Team Katusha-Alpecin: Kristoff (Nor), Martin (Ger), Zabel (Ger)

United Arab Emirates
UAE Team Emirates: Guardini (Ita), Marcato (Ita)

United States
BMC Racing Team: Elmiger (Che), Drucker (Lux)
Cannondale Drapac: Vanmarcke (Bel), Langeveld (Bel), Van Baarle (Ned)
Trek-Segafredo: Degenkolb (Ger), Nizzolo (Ita), Stuyven (Bel)

Contacts Presse
Sandra Schmitz
Email: sandra@flessnerschmitz.com
Mobile: +49 160 973 89898

Titouan Tiberghien
Email : ttiberghien@aso.fr
Mobile : +

Aktuelle Adresse: https://www.eschborn-frankfurt.de/de/die-rennen/elite-worldtour/archiv/2017/04/22/all-the-sprint-stars-will-be-there/
Gesellschaft zur Förderung des Radsports mbH+49 (0) 6196 92397 0
Auf der Krautweide 26Hessen65812Bad Soden am TaunusDeutschland